10 Top Technology Certifications

There are constant news reports that the field of technology continues to grow and offer excellent careers in a variety of industries, according to Forbes. The majority of these jobs are open to graduates who hold one of the 10 top technology certifications below.

1. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate

Most people aren’t aware that the world’s largest online retailer Amazon offers different technology certifications. Their basic Amazon Web Services (AWS) certification, the Certified Solutions Architect – Associate, was created for IT professionals who know how to design distributed systems and applications on the AWS platform. The certification exam covers AWS topics like service selection, cost estimations, cost-control measures and data ingress and egress options. AWS offers four other certifications. They are expected to continue establishing new exam credentials.

2. Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association, which is now only know as the ISACA, offers the CRISC certification. It is for IT professionals whose jobs are to identify and manage risks through appropriate IT controls and systems. The CRISC certification exam the entire information systems (IS) life cycle, so test takers must understand how to design, implement and maintain programs. Risk questions may ask how to identify scopes and assess the statistical likelihood of certain problems. In order to qualify for the CRISC certification exam, IT professionals must have at least three years of experience related to IT risks and IS controls.

3. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The ISACA also offers the Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) for administrators who are responsible for security strategy, system assessments and corporate policies. This exam focuses more on the managerial duties of the people who implement policies instead of the support specialists who use software and fix problems. This exam is only offered a few times a year. Exam candidates must have at least five years of experience in information systems and at least three years of experience as a security administrator. Annual continuing education credits (CEC) are required to maintain the certification.

4.Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is offered through the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium. This exam is similar to those above, but it focuses on vendor security knowledge that is neutral and universal. The exam includes multiple security topics, such as asset, network, engineering and software development. It also covers risk, access, identity, operations, communications and assessment management. Exam candidates will need a minimum of years’ employment in at least two of the key areas. This IT certification also requires CECs every year.

5.Project Management Professional (PMP)

This IT certification is offered through an entirely different industry. The Project Management Professional (PMP) has been the golden standard of certification for business managers and project administrators around the world for many years. The Project Management Institute (PMI) offers this highly recognized project management certification that includes certain key areas. Each topic is related to the life cycle of standard projects. They include the stages of project initiating, planning, executing, monitoring, controlling and closing. The PMP certification is popular among IT leaders who work on short- and long-term technology projects.

6. Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association, which offers two of the certifications above, continue to maintain their oldest certification. The Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) is designed for IT professionals who are responsible for auditing, assessing, monitoring and controlling IT systems and business programs. This exam tests the person’s ability to manage risk vulnerabilities, propose better controls, inspect digital processes and consistently update company policies. In other words, the CISA certification tests the candidate’s ability to ensure compliance with IT standards and business expectations.

7. Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE) Routing and Switching

This is one of the highest-level certifications available to network professionals. The Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE) Routing and Switching exam is second to only the Cisco Certified Architect credential. This certification is designed for those to design networks, implement architecture and troubleshoot routers and switchers. There are no official requirements to quality for this credential. However, the exam is quite difficult and there is an additional eight-hour lab that requires hands-on demonstrations of expertise. There are only around 10 of these in-person lab exam facilities in the country.

8. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Data Center

The Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Data Center was only recently introduced in the last few years. This certification focuses on data center technologies related to physical networking, virtual switches, cloud storage and load balancing for local and global clients. The CCNA Data Center certification comes with two exams. The first exam focuses on networking knowledge related to things like operation verifying and configuring. The second exam covers unified computing setup, server configuration, storage networking and device virtualization. This exam is popular among data center managers and administrators.

9. Cisco Certified Design Professional (CCDP)

This mid-level certification requires candidates to understand more challenging topics than associate-level exams. This certification was created for senior architecting and networking professionals who are responsible for creating and maintaining highly advanced network services, systems and topologies. One exam focuses on architecting and the other two focuses on routing and switching implementation. The exam focuses on switching technologies, such as spanning trees and discovery protocols, as well as routing technologies, such as frame relays and operation protocols. The Cisco Certified Design Professional (CCDP) covers a wide array of small, large and alternative networks.

10. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, or EC-Council, offers the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) for IT professionals who handle data integrity and network security. Most of the IT professionals who take this exam are security techs, auditors and administrators. The exam thoroughly tests a person’s ability to identify vulnerabilities, investigate weaknesses and defend against common hacking methods and technologies. The exam covers things like firewalls, cryptography, honeypots, session hijacking, denial of service, malware threats and social engineering.

Related Resource: 10 Highest-paying Jobs for Accounting Majors

Two of the other most top 10 technology certifications for IT professionals include the Six Sigma Green Belt, which is defined more for quality control professionals, and the Cisco Certified Networking Professional (CCNP) Security, which focuses on threat defense, cloud security and identity management.